Skip to navigation
Counsel That You Can Trust & Depend On


Guy DiMartino
Feb. 14, 2015

Most bedsores are preventable and develop because the nursing home staff didn't pay attention to the resident's needs. Today, I'm going to explain the four stages of a bedsore so you can inspect your loved one's body and hopefully prevent them from happening.

Stage 1 and some stage 2 bedsores can happen even your loved one is getting great care. On the other hand, if your loved one develops a stage 3 or stage 4 pressure sore, you need to look and see if somebody at the nursing home, rehab facility or hospital dropped the ball.

The four stages of pressure sores are:

Stage 1 Bedsore: A Stage one ulcer usually develops over an area above a bony prominence like the heels, elbows, pelvis and backside (sacrum). The area will show some redness and there is a change or decrease in circulation. Residents can feel either a hot or cold sensation in the area where the circulation is changing.

Stage 2 Bedsore: If the bedsore starts to blister it is considered stage 2.

Stage 3 Bedsore: The skin and tissue breaks down even further and the area starts to look like a crater. In stage 3, nursing home residents can develop nurse damage. The lesion will break down to the area of fat but not as far as muscle.

Stage 4 Bedsore: In stage 4 the sore is pretty deep. You can see muscle, tendon and bone. 95% of the time, a stage 4 ulcer develops because the nursing home staff dropped the ball and let it happen.

Bedsores can be very painful, cause local and system infections that could lead to death.

I hope this information helps you. Remember, If you a loved one in a nursing or rehab facility, you have to take the time to inspect their skin and you must be assertive with the nursing home staff. If they know you are watching they will be more Vigilant.

If you have any questions about an Indiana nursing home matter, Call Immediately (219) 874-4878.